Four Capital Region Hospitals to Start Limiting Non-Essential Surgeries

Operating room staff performing hospital surgery

Photo: Getty Images

Starting Thursday, four hospitals in the Capital Region are going to have to limit their number of non-essential surgeries.

The state Department of Health says restrictions will be in place at Albany Med, Saratoga Hospital, Glens Falls Hospital and Saint Mary's Healthcare. Hospitals have been filling up in recent weeks with patients needing treatment for COVID-19, which has limited the number of available beds. Surgical procedures addressing serious issues such as cancer, neurosurgery, trauma or cardiac conditions will continue as will most outpatient procedures such as colonoscopies and mammograms.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content